The Georgian Museum is located in one of Lancaster’s three National Historic Districts, and exemplifies early 19th century American craftsmanship. Built originally for Samuel and Sarah Maccracken in 1832 by local builder Daniel Sifford, the home of brick and native sandstone embodies features of both Federal and Greek Revival architecture. The structure is unlike any other built by Sifford, with its double-curved wall along a two-storied portico supported by fluted Ionic columns and windows that opened to the floor for access to the veranda.
Throughout the house twelve-foot ceilings draw attention to stunning woodwork, archways and chandeliers. A cantilevered spiral staircase leads up three floors - highlighted at the top by a cupola, which lights up the entire house. Rooms have been restored to reflect the period of the Maccracken’s residence from 1832 to 1852, with appropriate wall and floor coverings, and historic furnishings, including many pieces made in Fairfield County during the first half of the 19th century.
Today, visitors enjoy a guided of three restored floors of the house and learn about the Maccrackens and the influential families who resided here and the early Lancaster community as it grew from a frontier town to a city.
105 East Wheeling Street (parking details)
Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Open April 1- December 21
Museum reopens April 1, 2014
For group tours call 740-654-9923
Adults $6 / Students under 18, $2
Admission fee includes guided tour.
Tour both museums and receive discount.
AAA, Senior 65+ and South Central Power Customer Discounts offered.
Group Discounts also offered.
Active Duty Military Personnel with ID - FREE Admission.
FHA Members - FREE Admission.
First floor handicapped accessible.
DVD tour available for second floor and lower level.
Discover the charm and treasures of the Georgian Museum
• Beautifully restored Federal style architecture in
National Register Historic District
• Collections of silver, ivory, Erickson glass, quilts, and
• Dollhouses and one-of-a-kind antique miniatures
• Carved figure collection by folk artist, Elijah Pierce
• Restored kitchen with beehive oven and fireplace
• Personal items that once belonged to the Effinger family,
Vice President Elbridge Gerry, U.S. Senator Thomas Ewing,
and Ohio's first Attorney General, Henry Stanbery
• Museum shop featuring local history books and audio/visuals
as well as prints, cards, and unique items
• Portraits by John Neagle
105 East Wheeling Street, Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Sherman House Museum
137 East Main Street, Lancaster, Ohio 43130
P: 740-687-5891 or 740-654-9923